Searches for permanent electric dipole moments - worldwide

The content of this page was refreshed on the occasion of the CERN Council Open Symposium 2019 on the update of the European Strategy for Particle Physics, as a coordinated input from EDM searches worldwide.

The information collected here has been kindly provided by many colleagues. Thank you!

The process of making it a more complete and better digestible collection is still ongoing.

We appreciate any kind of suggestions, additions and pointing out possible mistakes.

Last update May 20, 2019 by d.ries@uni-mainz.de and geza.zsigmond@psi.ch .

2013: J. Engel, M. Ramsey-Musolf, U. van Kolck Prog. in Part. and Nucl. Phys. 71:21,2013, arXiv:1303.2371
2012: Takeshi Fukuyama IJMPA 2012, arXiv:1201.4252
2005: Maxim Pospelov, Adam Ritz Annals Phys.318:119-169,2005, arXiv:hep-ph/0504231
System: Neutron
Experiment / Collaboration Contact name E-mail Approx. # researchers Relevant publication Sensitivity now 1σ (e.cm) Sensit. in 5 (10) years

nEDM @ PSI

UBel, PTB, U. of Bern, U. of Sussex, LPC Caen, JUC, HNI Cracow, FRAP, LPSC, KUL, UKY, IKC Mainz, JGU, CSNSM, PSI, ETHZ,

Guillaume Pignol

Philipp Schmidt-Wellenburg

guillaume.pignol@lpsc.in2p3.fr

philipp.schmidt-wellenburg@psi.ch

50 Phys. Rev. D 92, 052008 (2015). 1x10-26 1x10-27

PanEDM @ ILL

ILL, MSU, PNPI, PTB, TUM, UIUC, UMICH

Peter Fierlinger

Oliver Zimmer

peter.fierlinger@tum.de

zimmer@ill.fr

30 PPNS 2018 proceedings, to be published   1x10-27
(below 1x10-27)

nEDM @ILL/PNPI

PNPI, Ioffe Inst St.-Petersburg, ILL

Anatoly Serebrov serebrov_ap@pnpi.nrcki.ru 20 JETP Letters (2014) V.99, no.1, p.7-11 5.5/1.64x10-26 1x10-27
neutron beam EDM Florian Piegsa florian.piegsa@lhep.unibe.ch 8 Phys. Rev. C 88 (2013) 045502   1x10-24
(1x10-26)

SNS nEDM

Arizona State U., Brown U., Caltech, Duke U., Harvard U., Indiana U., U. of Kentucky, U. of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, LANL, MIT, Mississippi State U., NCSU, Oak Ridge National Lab, Simon Fraser U., Tennessee Technological Institute, Universidad Nacional Autonóma de Mexico, U. of Tennessee, Valparaiso U., U. of Virginia, Yale U.

Brad Filippone bradf@caltech.edu 90 A New Apparatus for a Cryogenic Measurement of the Neutron Electric Dipole Moment, To be submitted: Journal Of Instrumentation (JINST)   3x10-27
(2x10-28)

TUCAN

The U.of British Columbia, High-Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK, Japan), U. of Manitoba, Nagoya U., U.of Northern British Columbia, Research Center for Nuclear Physics (RCNP) Osaka, Simon Fraser U., TRIUMF, U. of Winnipeg

Kichiji Hatanaka

Jeff Martin

 

hatanaka@rcnp.osaka-u.ac.jp

j.martin@uwinnipeg.ca

70 arxiv.org/abs/1809.04071   1x10-27

LANL nEDM

LANL, Indiana U., U.of Kentucky, U. of Michigan, East Tennessee State U., Yale U., Valparaiso U., Joint Institute of Nuclear Research

Takeasu Ito ito@lanl.gov 40 Phys. Rev. C 97, 012501(R) (2018)   4x10-27
(statistical)
(2x10-27)

 

System: Atoms          
Experiment / Collaboration Contact name E-mail Approx. # researchers Relevant publication Sensitivity now (e.cm) Sensit. in 5 (10) years
Cs @ Penn State David Weiss

dsweiss@phys.psu.edu

5 Phys. Rev. A 97, 033404 (2018)   3x10-30

Fr @ Riken

U. Tokyo/CNS, RKEN, Tohoku University/CYRIC

Yasuhiro Sakemi sakemi@cns.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp 15     1x10-30
Hg @ Bonn Simon Stellmer stellmer@uni-bonn.de 3    

5x10-31

(5x10-32)

Ra @ Argonne

Argonne National Lab, Michigan State University, University of Science and Technology of China

Matthew Dietrich mdietrich@anl.gov 9 Phys. Rev. C 94, 025501 (2016) 1.4/1.96x10-23 3x10-27

Xe @ Heidelberg

Uni HD, Uni Mainz, FZ Jülich, Uni Groningen

Werner Heil wheil@uni-mainz.de 15 Measurement of the Permanent Electric Dipole Moment of the 129Xe Atom, paper to be submitted to PRC (2018/19) (-4.7+-6.4stat+-0.7sys)x10-28  (prelim.)

< 1x10-29 @ Jülich (< 1x10-30 @Uni Hd)

Xe @ PTB

PTB, UMICH, TUM, MSU, ILL

Peter Fierlinger

peter.fierlinger@tum.de

22     1x10-29

Xe @ Riken

Nishina Center, RIKEN, CNS , U. Tokyo

Koichiro Asahi asahi@mercury.dti.ne.jp   Phys. Lett. A382 (2018) 588-594  

1x10-28

 

System:  Molecules          
Experiment / Collaboration Contact name E-mail Approx. # researchers Relevant publication Sensitivity now (e.cm) Sensit. in 5 (10) years

BaF (EDM3) @ Toronto

York University, Michigan State University, University of Toronto

Eric Hessels

Jaideep Singh

Amar Vutha

hessels@yorku.ca

 

singhj   @nscl.msu.edu

amar.vutha      @utoronto.ca

14 Phys. Rev. A 98 032513 (2018)   1x10-33

BaF (NleEDM) @ Groningen/Nikhef

U. Groningen, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Nikhef

Steven Hoekstra s.hoekstra@rug.nl 14     1x10-30

HfF+ @ JILA

Uni Colorado, NIST

Eric Cornell cornell@       jila.colorado.edu 11 Phys. Rev. Lett. 119, 153001 (2017) 1.3/1.64x10-28

5x10-30

(5x10-31)

ThO (ACME) @ Yale

Harvard, Northwestern, Yale

John Doyle doyle @physics.harvard.edu 16 Nature 562, 355 (2018) 1.1/1.64x10-29 1x10-30

YBF @ Imperial

Imperial

Mike Tarbutt m.tarbutt@imperial.ac.uk 10 Nature 473, 493 (2011) 1/1.64x10-27

1x10-30

(1x10-31)

 

 

System:  Storage rings          
Experiment / Collaboration Contact name E-mail Approx. # researchers Relevant publication Sensitivity now 1σ  (e.cm) Sensit. in 5 (10) years

CPEDM / JEDI

See http://collaborations.fz-juelich.de/ikp/jedi/collaboration/institutes.shtml

Hans Ströher h.stroeher@fz-juelich.de 145     1x10-29

MuEDM @ PSI

PSI

Philipp Schmidt-Wellenburg philipp.schmidt-wellenburg@psi.ch 10 Phys. Rev. D 98, 113002 (2018)   5x10-23

g-2 @ FNAL

See http://muon-g-2.fnal.gov/collaboration.html

Mark Lancaster

Chris C. Polly

 

m.lancaster  @ucl.ac.uk

polly@fnal.gov

200      

g-2 @ JPARC

See http://g-2.kek.jp/portal/collaboration.html

Masahiko Iwasaki

Naohit Saito

advanced_meson @riken.jp

naohito.saito@kek.jp

90 arxiv.org/abs/1901.03047   1.5x10-21