Scientific Highlights and News

February 2024

Welcome to Mattia Fiore and Anton Hul!

January 2024

Congratulations to Sri Vasudha Hemadri Bhotla for successfully defending her semester thesis!

New group member

Welcome to Daniel Z Haxell who is joining us as a postdoctoral researcher!

December 2023

Congratulations to Frederik van der Brugge, Otto Schmid, and Frederik Schnebel for successfully defending their semester and Master theses!

October 2023

Welcome to Sri Vasudha Hemadri Bhotla!

September 2023

SNI 2023 Best Poster Award for Alessandro Bruno!

Congratulations to Alessandro for winning the award for the best poster at the Swiss Nanoscience Institute 2023 annual meeting!

July 2023

Congratulations to Michael Bruno for successfully defending his semester project!

Welcome to Otto Schmid and Frederik van der Brugge!

June 2023

Nicholas Kurti prize ceremony at Oxford University

March 2023

New group member

Welcome to Preeti Pandey who is joining us as a postdoctoral researcher!

February 2023

Congratulations to Tristan Kuttner for successfully completing his Master thesis!

December 2022

New group member

Welcome to Venus Hasanuzzaman Kamrul!

November 2022

New group members

Welcome to the new group members Laurent Michaud, Frederik Schnebel, and Alexander Rommens!

September 2022

Alex wins 2022 Nicholas Kurti prize


We are happy to announce that Alex has been awarded the 2022 Nicholas Kurti Science prize. The prize recognises his work on non-linear effects in Josephson junctions for quantum information processing.

The objective of the Nicholas Kurti Science Prize is to promote and recognise the novel work of young scientists working in the fields of low temperatures and/or high magnetic fields in Europe. Read the full press release and interview here and here.

Goodbye to Emre

Emre Vardar has finished his internship with us. Thank you Emre and we wish you all the best for your future!

July 2022

New group!

The BoQui group is starting its journey! Thank you to the QPS group for their support over the past years. Welcome to the "new" group members Alexander Grimm, Francesco Adinolfi, Alessandro Bruno, Tristan Kuttner, and Emre Vardar.

January 2022

ERC logo

ERC Starting grant

Alex has received the ERC Starting grant! Read more about it here: millions in funding for brain and quantum research and here.