Latest News

Here you find current News from the NUM division. For scientific highlights, please see these pages.

27 June 2018

CMS Young Researcher Prize awarded to Lea Caminada

Lea Caminada, a researcher in the High-Energy Particle Physics group of the Laboratory for Particle Physics (LTP) in NUM, has received the annual CMS Young Researcher Prize. This Prize is given once a year to outstanding young physicists who made very significant and sustained contributions to the CMS experiment at the LHC facility at CERN. Dr. Caminada has been recognized for her contribution to the construction, installation and commissioning of the two pixel detectors which were build at PSI for the CMS experiment. Her work also included the measurement of the B-meson production cross section and the observation of the Higgs boson in association with top quarks.

6 March 2018

SNSF professorship awarded to Andreas Crivellin

The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) awarded this year an SNSF professorship to Andreas Crivellin (NUM, Laboratory of Particle Physics (LTP), Theory Group) for his research plan on the study of Lepton Flavour Universality Violation (LFUV) in B meson decays. These processes received a lot of attention in the last years due to the intriguing hints for LFUV which, if confirmed, would prove the existence of physics beyond the Standard Model (SM) of particle physics. The project will be jointly hosted by the LTP at PSI and the Physik-Institut of the University of Zurich and is a direct follow-up of Andreas’ current Ambizione grant here at PSI. Therefore, he will continue investigating the promising hints for LFUV (which are at the 5 sigma level) and examine their impact on models of physics beyond the SM and their connection for lepton flavour violating processes such as μ → e+γ and μ → 3e, measured here at PSI. Together with his own position for 4 years, the SNF also granted 2 PhD students and 1 postdoc who will work at PSI as well.
Andreas Crivellin obtained his PhD in 2010 from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. After a postdoctoral position at the Institute for Theoretical Physics in Bern and a personal Marie Curie Fellowship at CERN he joined in 2016 the Theory Group of the LTP with his Ambizione grant of the SNSF.