Scientific Highlights

Datum
22 August 2019
Teaser Chemokin-Rezeptor

Preventing tumour metastasis

Media Releases Biology Human Health Medical Science Research Using Synchrotron Light

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI, together with colleagues from the pharmaceutical company F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG, have taken an important step towards the development of an active substance against the metastasis of certain cancers. Using the Swiss Light Source SLS, they deciphered the structure of a receptor that plays a crucial role in the migration of cancer cells.

Read more
4 July 2019
Teaser Molekulare Energiemaschine als Filmstar

Molecular energy machine as a movie star

Media Releases Biology SwissFEL Large Research Facilities Research Using Synchrotron Light

Using the Swiss Light Source SLS, PSI researchers have recorded a molecular energy machine in action and thus revealed how energy production at cell membranes works. For this purpose, they developed a new investigative method that could make the analysis of cellular processes significantly more effective than before.

Read more
24 June 2019
Teaser Choi Steinmetz

Molecular scissors stabilise the cell's cytoskeleton

Media Releases Biology Human Health Medical Science

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI have an important part of the regulatory cycle that is involved in the formation and degradation of the cytoskeleton. Among other things, they have watched molecular scissors at work.

Read more
26 April 2019
teaser adenylate cyclase

Bringing information into the cell

Media Releases Biology Human Health Medical Science

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI have elucidated an important part of a siganalling pathway that transmits information through the cell membrane into the interior of a cell. This exists in all mammals and plays an important role, among other things, in the regulation of the heartbeat. The new findings could lead to new therapies.

Read more
22 August 2018

A biotechnological revolution

Biology Medical Science Human Health Radiopharmacy

Gebhard Schertler is head of the research division Biology and Chemistry at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI and professor for Structural Biology at ETH Zurich. In this interview he talks about biological research at PSI and the future of drug development.

Read more
14 June 2018
teaser picture

Biological light sensor filmed in action

Media Releases Biology SwissFEL

Using X-ray laser technology, a team led by researchers of the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI has recorded one of the fastest processes in biology. In doing so, they produced a molecular movie that reveals how the light sensor retinal is activated in a protein molecule. Such reactions occur in numerous organisms. The movie shows for the first time how a protein efficiently controls the reaction of the embedded light sensor.

Read more
30 May 2018

Hollywood in the Würenlingen woods

SwissFEL Biology Large Research Facilities

With the X-ray laser SwissFEL, researchers at PSI want to produce movies of biomolecules in action. This can reveal how our eyes function or how new drugs work.

Read more
4 October 2017

Highlighting the significance of structural analysis of biomolecules

Biology

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 has been awarded to Jacques Dubochet of Switzerland, U.S.-based German scientist Joachim Frank, and Richard Henderson of the United Kingdom for the development of structural analysis of single biological molecules by means of cryo-electron microscopy. The awarding of the prize underscores the fundamental significance of structural analysis of biomolecules for modern biology – a research area where the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI plays a leading role in Switzerland.

Read more
23 February 2017

In start-up companies, getting it done is a matter of survival

Biology Medical Science Human Health

A pharmaceuticals manager at Roche for a long time, now he is the founder of a biotech firm on the campus of the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI: Michael Hennig knows the trends in the medical sector. In this interview he explains why the medicine of the future needs the innovation power of publicly funded research, and why he chose to locate his start-up leadXpro so close to PSI.

Read more

Scientific Highlights

Datum
22. August 2019
Teaser Chemokin-Rezeptor

Metastasierung von Tumoren verhindern

Medienmitteilungen Biologie Mensch und Gesundheit Medizin Forschung mit Synchrotronlicht

Forschende des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI sind gemeinsam mit Kollegen des Pharmaunternehmens F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG der Entwicklung eines Wirkstoffes gegen die Metastasierung von bestimmten Krebsarten einen wichtigen Schritt nähergekommen. Mithilfe der Synchrotron Lichtquelle Schweiz SLS entschlüsselten sie die Struktur eines Rezeptors, der entscheidend an der Wanderung von Krebszellen beteiligt ist.

Weiterlesen
4. Juli 2019
Teaser Molekulare Energiemaschine als Filmstar

Molekulare Energiemaschine als Filmstar

Medienmitteilungen Biologie SwissFEL Grossforschungsanlagen Forschung mit Synchrotronlicht

Forschende des PSI haben mithilfe der Synchrotron Lichtquelle Schweiz SLS eine molekulare Energiemaschine in Bewegung aufgenommen und so aufgedeckt, wie die Energiegewinnung an Zellmembranen funktioniert. Dazu entwickelten sie eine neue Untersuchungsmethode, die die Analyse von zellulären Vorgängen deutlich effektiver machen könnte als bislang.

Weiterlesen
24. Juni 2019
Teaser Choi Steinmetz

Molekulare Schere stabilisiert das Zell-Zytoskelett

Medienmitteilungen Biologie Mensch und Gesundheit Medizin

Forschende des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI haben einen wichtigen Teil des Kreislaufs identifiziert, der den Auf- und Abbau des Zellskelettes reguliert. Dazu beobachteten sie mithilfe der Synchrotron Lichtquelle Schweiz SLS Molekül-Scheren bei der Arbeit.

Weiterlesen
26. April 2019
teaser adenylate cyclase

Informationen in die Zelle bringen

Medienmitteilungen Biologie Mensch und Gesundheit Medizin

Forschende des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI haben einen wichtigen Teil eines Signalweges aufgeklärt, der Informationen durch die Zellmembran in das Innere einer Zelle überträgt. Dieser existiert bei allen Säugetieren und spielt unter anderem bei der Regulierung des Herzschlages eine wichtige Rolle. Die neuen Erkenntnisse könnten zu neuen Therapien führen.

Weiterlesen
22. August 2018

Eine biotechnologische Revolution

Biologie Medizin Mensch und Gesundheit Radiopharmazie

Gebhard Schertler ist Leiter des Forschungsbereichs Biologie und Chemie am Paul Scherrer Institut PSI und Professor für Strukturbiologie an der ETH Zürich. In diesem Interview spricht er über die biologische Forschung am PSI und die Zukunft der Medikamentenentwicklung.

Weiterlesen
14. Juni 2018
teaser picture

Biologischer Lichtsensor in Aktion gefilmt

Medienmitteilungen Biologie SwissFEL

Mithilfe eines Röntgenlasers hat ein Team unter Leitung von Forschenden des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI einen der schnellsten Prozesse in der Biologie aufgezeichnet. Der dabei erzeugte molekulare Film enthüllt, wie der Lichtsensor Retinal in einem Proteinmolekül aktiviert wird. Solche Reaktionen kommen in zahlreichen Organismen vor. Der Film zeigt erstmals, wie ein Protein die Reaktion des eingebetteten Lichtsensors effizient steuert.

Weiterlesen
30. Mai 2018
teaser picture

Hollywood im Würenlinger Wald

SwissFEL Biologie Grossforschungsanlagen

Mit dem Röntgenlaser SwissFEL wollen Forschende am PSI Filme von Biomolekülen in Aktion produzieren. So lässt sich aufzeigen, wie unser Auge funktioniert oder wie neue Medikamente wirken.

Weiterlesen
4. Oktober 2017

Bedeutung der Strukturanalyse von Biomolekülen unterstrichen

Biologie

Der Nobelpreis für Chemie 2017 wurde für die Entwicklung der Strukturanalyse von biologischen Einzelmolekülen mittels ultragekühlter Elektronenmikroskopie verliehen. Die Preisvergabe unterstreicht die fundamentale Bedeutung der Strukturanalyse von Biomolekülen für die moderne Biologie – eines Forschungsgebiets, auf dem das Paul Scherrer Institut PSI in der Schweiz eine führende Rolle einnimmt.

Weiterlesen
23. Februar 2017

In Start-up-Firmen ist das Machen überlebenswichtig

Biologie Medizin Mensch und Gesundheit

Lange war er Pharma-Manager bei Roche, jetzt ist er Gründer eines Biotech-Unternehmens auf dem Gelände des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI: Michael Hennig kennt die Trends der Medizinbranche. Im Interview erklärt er, warum die Medizin der Zukunft die Innovationskraft öffentlich geförderter Forschung braucht und warum er für sein Start-up leadXpro die Nähe zum PSI gewählt hat.

Weiterlesen