Practical Courses at SINQ


For questions about our training program and access to the practical courses please contact Dr. Thomas Geue.

Dispersion of acoustic phonons in a single crystal of Lead (TASP, Rita-II)

pho.png This practicum is performed using the 3-axis neutron spectrometers TASP or Rita-II. Contact person: Dr. Christof Niedermayer (Tel.: +41 56 310 2086, E-mail: christof.niedermayer@psi.ch).

More information...

Investigation of long-range antiferromagnetic order by neutron powder diffraction (HRPT, DMC)

This practicum is performed using the powder diffractometer HRPT under advice of Dr. Vladimir Pomjakushin (Tel: +41 56 310 2094, E-mail: vladimir.pomjakushin@psi.ch) or DMC under the advice of Dr. Lukas Keller (Tel: +41 56 310 4007, E-mail: lukas.keller@psi.ch).

More information...

Chemical structure of Sodiumnitroprusside (ZEBRA)

pru.png This practicum is performed at the single-crystal neutron diffractometer ZEBRA under advice of Dr. Juerg Schefer (Tel: +41 56 310 4347, E-mail: jurg.schefer@psi.ch).

More information...

Small angle neutron scattering with polarized neutrons to study nanocrystalline magnetic structures (SANS)

This practicum is performed at the small angle neutron scattering instrument SANS-I under advice of Dr. Joachim Kohlbrecher (Tel.: +41 56 310 3165, E-mail: joachim.kohlbrecher@psi.ch).

More information...

Investigation of water dynamics by means of quasi-elastic neutron scattering (FOCUS)

qen.png This practicum is performed at the time-of-flight spectrometer FOCUS under advice of Dr. Jan Peter Embs (tel: +41 56 310 5392, E-mail: jan.embs@psi.ch).

More information...

Micellization studied by small-angle neutron scattering (SANS)

This practicum is performed at the small angle neutron scattering instrument SANS-II under advice of Dr. Urs Gasser (Tel.: +41 56 310 3229, E-mail: urs.gasser@psi.ch).

More information...

Depth profile of the density in a layered Ni/Ti film studied by neutron reflectometry (AMOR, Morpheus)

nr2.png This practicum is performed at the neutron reflectometers AMOR or Morpheus under advice of Dr. Thomas Geue (Tel.: +41 56 310 5988, E-mail: thomas.geue@psi.ch).

More information...

The vortex lattice of a type II superconductor studied by small angle neutron scattering (SANS)

This practicum is performed at the small angle neutron scattering instrument SANS-I under advice of Dr. Jorge Gavilano (Tel.: +41 56 310 5473, E-mail: jorge.gavilano@psi.ch).

More information...

Neutron grating interferometry (ICON)

NGI practical.png Practical course on Magnetization response of bulk ferromagnetic domain structures visualized by neutron dark-field imaging. Peformed on the cold neutron imaging facility ICON under the advice of Dr. Christian Grünzweig (Tel.: +41 56 310 4662, E-mail: christian.gruenzweig@psi.ch), Ralph Harti and Jacopo Valsecchi.

More information...