List of Principle Investigators and Themes 1st PSI-FELLOW-III-3i Call 2020

Find below the list of PIs and themes. For some of the themes the ID-Nr. will be updated (TBU). Please contact the PIs for more details about the theme and the research opportunities. 
 

ID-Nr. Name of the PI Firstname Theme Email Division
Materials and matter
3000-02 Soh Yona Quantum materials with focus on thin film and devices yona.soh@psi.ch NUM
3000-08 Kenzelmann Michel Magnetic quantum criticality near Kondo breakdown michel.kenzelmann@psi.ch NUM
3000-09 Niedermayer Christof Establishing the full potential of multiplexing neutron spectrometers christof.niedermayer@psi.ch NUM
3000-16 Janoschek Marc Uniaxial Pressure Tuning of Quantum Matter marc.janoschek@psi.ch NUM
3000-17 Lippert Thomas Thin Film Growth and characterization of piezo and ferroelectric materials thomas.lippert@psi.ch NUM
4000-15 Mudry Christopher Non Hermitean Topology christopher.mudry@psi.ch NES
4000-16 Krack Matthias Modelling of ultra-fast processes in solution matthias.krack@psi.ch NES
6000-01 Dreiser Jan Novel magnetic 2D materials with thicknesses down to a monolayer jan.dreiser@psi.ch PSD
6000-02 Schmitt Thorsten Resonant Inelastic X-Ray Scattering on Quantum Materials thorsten.schmitt@psi.ch PSD
6000-03 Raabe Jörg Ptychographic Soft X-ray Imaging of Magnetic Nanostructures joerg.raabe@psi.ch PSD
6000-09 Radovic Milan
Electronic properties of oxide heterostructures
milan.radovic@psi.ch PSD
6000-16 Grimm Alexander Novel fabrication methods and materials for superconducting quantum circuits alexander.grimm@psi.ch PSD
6000-18 Muntwiler Matthias Photoelectron diffraction of novel functional materials matthias.muntwiler@psi.ch PSD
6000-26 Patthey Luc Ultrafast dynamics of quantum materials studied by time-resolved X-ray diffraction and time-resolved resonant inelastic X-ray scattering luc.patthey@psi.ch PSD
6000-28 Lemke Henrik FEL-based detection of ultrafast magnetic and electronic transitions in strongly correlated materials. henrik.lemke@psi.ch PSD
6000-30 Mankowsky Roman Ultrafast control of magnetic and electronic transitions in strongly correlated materials, characterised by FEL-based X-radiation. roman.mankowsky@psi.ch PSD
6000-31 Menzel Andreas Method development for ptychographic imaging andreas.menzel@psi.ch PSD
6000-32 Van Petegem Steven Combining acoustic emission with operando X-ray diffraction and imaging during laser 3D printing steven.vanpetegem@psi.ch PSD
Human health and life sciences
2000-03 Shivashankar GV Mechano-genomic regulation of cellular ageing gv.shivashankar@psi.ch BIO
2000-XX (TBC) Tsujino Soichiro Development of automated crystallography pipeline for membrane protein microcrystals  soichiro.tsujino@psi.ch BIO
4000-13 Deupi Xavier Study of ultrafast retinal isomerization by QM/MM analysis of FEL data xavier.deupi@psi.ch NES/ BIO
6000-10 Aeppli Gabriel viral lasers gabriel.aeppli@psi.ch PSD
6000-12 Wojdyla Justyna Covid-19 X-ray diffraction data analysis for fragment screening FFCS pipeline justyna.wojdyla@psi.ch PSD
6000-13 Wojdyla Justyna Automated data processing and analysis of SwissFEL and SLS 2.0 serial crystallography experiments justyna.wojdyla@psi.ch PSD
9000-01 Yukihara Eduardo Dosimetric challenges in radiation therapy eduardo.yukihara@psi.ch ASI
Energy & environment
4000-10 Vasiliev Alexander Advanced Monte Carlo based Radiation Transport and Activation Modelling towards Optimized Management of Radioactive Waste for Facility Decommissioning alexander.vasiliev@psi.ch NES
4000-11 Paladino Domenico Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) and PANDA Experiments  domenico.paladino@psi.ch NES
4000-17 Dehbi Abdelouahab Aerosol transport in hospital infectious isolation rooms abdel.dehbi@psi.ch NES
5000-01 Davide Ferri Next generation three-way catalysts for natural gas vehicles davide.ferri@psi.ch ENE
5000-02 Smolentsev Grigory Time-resolved X-ray spectroscopy to study mechanisms of hydrogen evolution by molecular catalysts grigory.smolentsev@psi.ch ENE
5000-03 Smolentsev Grigory Pump-probe X-ray spectroscopy to study photo- and electroluminescent materials grigory.smolentsev@psi.ch ENE
5000-04 Prevot Andre Off-line mass spectrometric analyses of ambient particulate matter filters from India andre.prevot@psi.ch ENE
5000-07 Nachtegaal Maarten Catalyst discovery from X-ray spectroscopic data by a machine learning approach maarten.nachtegaal@psi.ch ENE
6000-19 Schnorr Kirsten Ultrafast Single-Particle Imaging at SwissFEL kirsten.schnorr@psi.ch PSD
6000-20 Bostedt Christoph Unconventional x-ray scattering or spectroscopy approaches in the attosecond domain christoph.bostedt@psi.ch PSD
6000-21 Al Haddad Andre New opportunities in time-resolved X-ray and VUV liquid jet spectroscopy andre.al-haddad@psi.ch PSD
6000-23 Ferreira Sanchez Dario Chemical processes in reactive materials: New insights by advanced, synchrotron-based Chemical Imaging dario.ferreira@pasi.ch PSD
6000-24 Huthwelker Thomas Crystallization studies in airborne particles thomas.huthwelker@psi.ch PSD
6000-29 Lemke Henrik FEL-based investigation of wavepacket dynamics during excitation through multiple trajectories henrik.lemke@psi.ch PSD
Development of new accelerator concepts, beam characterization methods, detectors and optics
6000-04 David Christian Nanolithography of optical elements for x-ray microscopy   christian.david@psi.ch PSD
6000-05 David Christian X-ray wavefront characterization, correction and manipulation christian.david@psi.ch PSD
6000-11 Pedrini Bill Generation and use of phase-locked ultrafast X-ray pulses bill.pedrini@psi.ch PSD
6000-15 David Christian Diffractive optics for experiments with XFEL radiation christian.david@psi.ch PSD
6000-22 Knopp Gregor Novel approaches for ultrafast nonlinear X-ray spectroscopy employing the coherent properties of the CHIC modes of the Athos beamline at SwissFEL gregor.knopp@psi.ch PSD
8000-01 Prat Eduard Generation of ultra-large bandwidth and multi-color free-electron laser pulses at the soft X-ray beamline of SwissFEL eduard.prat@psi.ch GFA
8000-02 Reiche Sven Solenoid focusing for super-conducting undulator beamline sven.reiche@psi.ch GFA
8000-03 Craievich Paolo Development and testing of the next generation photocathode C-band RF gun for SwissFEL/Porthos paolo.craievich@psi.ch  GFA