Scientific Highlights

Datum
22 August 2019
Teaser Chemokin-Rezeptor

Preventing tumour metastasis

Media Releases Biology Human Health Medical Science Research Using Synchrotron Light

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI, together with colleagues from the pharmaceutical company F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG, have taken an important step towards the development of an active substance against the metastasis of certain cancers. Using the Swiss Light Source SLS, they deciphered the structure of a receptor that plays a crucial role in the migration of cancer cells.

Read more
4 July 2019
Teaser Molekulare Energiemaschine als Filmstar

Molecular energy machine as a movie star

Media Releases Biology SwissFEL Large Research Facilities Research Using Synchrotron Light

Using the Swiss Light Source SLS, PSI researchers have recorded a molecular energy machine in action and thus revealed how energy production at cell membranes works. For this purpose, they developed a new investigative method that could make the analysis of cellular processes significantly more effective than before.

Read more
24 June 2019
Teaser Choi Steinmetz

Molecular scissors stabilise the cell's cytoskeleton

Media Releases Biology Human Health Medical Science

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI have an important part of the regulatory cycle that is involved in the formation and degradation of the cytoskeleton. Among other things, they have watched molecular scissors at work.

Read more
26 April 2019
teaser adenylate cyclase

Bringing information into the cell

Media Releases Biology Human Health Medical Science

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI have elucidated an important part of a siganalling pathway that transmits information through the cell membrane into the interior of a cell. This exists in all mammals and plays an important role, among other things, in the regulation of the heartbeat. The new findings could lead to new therapies.

Read more
22 August 2018

A biotechnological revolution

Biology Medical Science Human Health Radiopharmacy

Gebhard Schertler is head of the research division Biology and Chemistry at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI and professor for Structural Biology at ETH Zurich. In this interview he talks about biological research at PSI and the future of drug development.

Read more
14 June 2018
teaser picture

Biological light sensor filmed in action

Media Releases Biology SwissFEL

Using X-ray laser technology, a team led by researchers of the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI has recorded one of the fastest processes in biology. In doing so, they produced a molecular movie that reveals how the light sensor retinal is activated in a protein molecule. Such reactions occur in numerous organisms. The movie shows for the first time how a protein efficiently controls the reaction of the embedded light sensor.

Read more
30 May 2018

Hollywood in the Würenlingen woods

SwissFEL Biology Large Research Facilities

With the X-ray laser SwissFEL, researchers at PSI want to produce movies of biomolecules in action. This can reveal how our eyes function or how new drugs work.

Read more
4 October 2017

Highlighting the significance of structural analysis of biomolecules

Biology

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 has been awarded to Jacques Dubochet of Switzerland, U.S.-based German scientist Joachim Frank, and Richard Henderson of the United Kingdom for the development of structural analysis of single biological molecules by means of cryo-electron microscopy. The awarding of the prize underscores the fundamental significance of structural analysis of biomolecules for modern biology – a research area where the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI plays a leading role in Switzerland.

Read more
23 February 2017

In start-up companies, getting it done is a matter of survival

Biology Medical Science Human Health

A pharmaceuticals manager at Roche for a long time, now he is the founder of a biotech firm on the campus of the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI: Michael Hennig knows the trends in the medical sector. In this interview he explains why the medicine of the future needs the innovation power of publicly funded research, and why he chose to locate his start-up leadXpro so close to PSI.

Read more

Scientific Highlights

Datum
22 août 2019
Teaser Chemokin-Rezeptor

Empêcher la formation des métastases des tumeurs

Communiqués de presse Biologie L'Homme et la santé Médecine Recherche avec la lumière synchrotron

Des chercheurs de l’Institut Paul Scherrer PSI ont, en collaboration avec des collègues de la firme pharmaceutique F. Hoffmann-La Roche SA, franchi un pas important dans le développement d’une substance active contre la formation des métastases de certaines tumeurs cancéreuses. Grâce à la Source de Lumière Synchrotron Suisse SLS, ils ont déchiffré la structure d’un récepteur qui joue un rôle essentiel dans la migration des cellules cancéreuses.

En savoir plus
4 juillet 2019
Teaser Molekulare Energiemaschine als Filmstar

La star à l’écran: une machine moléculaire

Communiqués de presse Biologie SwissFEL Grands instruments de recherche Recherche avec la lumière synchrotron

Des chercheurs de l’Institut Paul Scherrer PSI ont filmé une machine moléculaire en mouvement grâce à la Source de Lumière Suisse SLS, et ainsi révélé comment fonctionne la production d’énergie au niveau des cellules membranaires. Ils ont développé à cet effet une nouvelle méthode qui pourrait permettre des succès inédits dans l’analyse des processus cellulaires.

En savoir plus
24 juin 2019
Teaser Choi Steinmetz

Des ciseaux moléculaires stabilisent le cytosquelette de la cellule

Communiqués de presse Biologie L'Homme et la santé Médecine

Des chercheurs de l’Institut Paul Scherrer PSI ont identifié une importante partie du cycle qui régule le montage et le démontage du cytosquelette en observant des ciseaux moléculaires au travail à l’aide de la Source de Lumière Suisse SLS.

En savoir plus
26 avril 2019
teaser adenylate cyclase

Transmettre l’information à l’intérieur de la cellule

Communiqués de presse Biologie L'Homme et la santé Médecine

Des chercheurs de l’Institut Paul Scherrer PSI ont élucidé un composant important d’une voie de signalisation qui transmet certaines informations à travers la membrane cellulaire vers l’intérieur de la cellule. Cette voie de signalisation existe chez tous les mammifères et joue un rôle important, entre autres, dans la régulation du rythme cardiaque. Ces nouvelles connaissances pourraient déboucher sur de nouveaux traitements.

En savoir plus
22 août 2018
teaser picture

Une révolution biotechnologique

Biologie Médecine L'Homme et la santé Radiopharmacie

Gebhard Schertler est directeur de la division de recherche Biologie et Chimie à l'Institut Paul Scherrer PSI et professeur de Biologie structurale à l'ETH Zurich. Dans cet entretien, il évoque la recherche menée au PSI dans le domaine de la biologie et l'avenir du développement de médicaments.

En savoir plus
14 juin 2018
teaser picture

Capteur biologique de lumière filmé en pleine action

Communiqués de presse Biologie SwissFEL

Une équipe de chercheurs de l'Institut Paul Scherrer PSI a enregistré, à l'aide d'un laser à rayons X, l'un des processus les plus rapides en biologie. Le film moléculaire ainsi réalisé révèle la manière dont le capteur de lumière rétinal est activé dans une molécule de protéine. Des réactions de ce type interviennent dans de nombreux organismes. Ce film montre pour la première fois comment une protéine pilote de manière efficace la réaction du capteur de lumière intégré en son sein.

En savoir plus
30 mai 2018
teaser picture

Hollywood en forêt de Würenlingen

SwissFEL Biologie Grands instruments de recherche

Les chercheurs du PSI veulent utiliser le laser à rayons X SwissFEL pour réaliser des films qui présenteront des biomolécules en action. Ces productions montreront comment fonctionne notre œil ou quel est le mode d’action de nouveaux médicaments.

En savoir plus
4 octobre 2017
teaser picture

L’importance de l’analyse structurale des biomolécules reconnue et récompensée

Biologie

Le prix Nobel de chimie 2017 a été décerné au Suisse Jacques Dubochet, à l’Allemand Joachim Frank et au Britannique Richard Henderson pour leurs travaux sur l’analyse structurale des molécules biologiques au moyen de la cryo-microscopie électronique. L’attribution de ce prix souligne l’importance fondamentale de l’analyse structurale des biomolécules pour la biologie moderne. Un domaine dans lequel l’Institut Paul Scherrer PSI joue un rôle de premier plan en Suisse.

En savoir plus
23 février 2017
teaser picture

Si les start-up veulent survivre, elles doivent être actives

Biologie Médecine L'Homme et la santé

Il a longtemps été directeur pharma chez Roche; aujourd’hui, il est le fondateur d’une biotech sur le site de l’Institut Paul Scherrer PSI: Michael Hennig connaît les tendances dans le domaine médical. Dans cet entretien, il explique pourquoi la médecine du futur a besoin de la force d’innovation d’une recherche financée par des fonds publics et pourquoi il a choisi d’établir sa start-up leadXpro à proximité du PSI.

En savoir plus