Dr. John Trey Diulus

Trey Diulus

Postdoc (University of Zurich)

FP-RESOMUS Fellow

Paul Scherrer Institute
Forschungsstrasse 111
5232 Villigen PSI
Switzerland

Trey is currently a postdoc in Prof. Osterwalder’s group at Universität Zürich (UZH). He obtained his BSc in Chemical Engineering from the University of Florida (Gainesville, FL, USA) and his PhD from Oregon State University (Corvallis, OR, USA) also in Chemical Engineering.  As an undergraduate student in Prof. Jason Weaver’s group at the University of Florida, he began his research tenure in the field of surface science by studying the kinetics of multiple adsorbates on a PdO(101)/Pd(111) system, which can be utilized as an oxidation catalyst for a wide range of applications. Throughout his PhD studies in Prof. Greg Herman’s group at Oregon State University, he became an expert in numerous surface characterization techniques and studied multiple areas of surface chemistry, specifically for semiconductor processing (mechanistic analysis of interactions during extreme ultraviolet (EUV) exposure to organometallic photoresists), fundamental catalysis (In Situ chemical analysis of 2-propanol oxidation on a SnO2(110) single crystal), and thin-film characterization applications (surface characterization of co-sputter deposited NiGa, CoGe, and TaWSi thin films). During his tenure as a PhD student, he co-led the Nanopatterning student research team as part of the NSF funded Center for Sustainable Materials Chemistry. He additionally temporarily worked as the point-of-contact and system maintainer for two ultra-high vacuum (UHV) systems in Prof. Herman's lab, equipped with multiple characterization techniques and open to external users.

Trey is currently a postdoc in Prof. Jürg Osterwalder’s group at the University of Zurich and works as a guest scientist at the Paul Scherrer Institute. All of his research constitutes using AP-XPS with both the In Situ Spectroscopy (X07DB) and Phoenix (X07MA) beamlines at the Swiss Light Source. In this position, he is studying well defined single crystalline metals and metal oxides In Operando using the newly developed Solid Liquid Interface Chemistry (SLIC) endstation.

Trey’s research background focuses on the fundamental aspects of molecule surface interactions. He has given 20+ scientific presentations and has 15+ peer-reviewed publications in his initial tenure as a researcher. Trey is proficient at using multiple surface characterization techniques, including temperature programmed desorption (TPD), electron stimulated desorption (ESD), atomic force microscopy (AFM), Auger electron spectroscopy (AES), and X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS).

Much of his PhD research focused on the characterization of low energy radiation interactions with radiation sensitive materials. For these studies he utilized low energy photons, primarily in the soft X-ray and extreme ultraviolet (EUV) region, for XPS and X-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAS) analysis of organometallic clusters. These clusters can efficiently absorb photons at energies of ~92 eV and have been proposed for next generation EUV photoresists utilized in semiconductor chip manufacturing. Trey has worked closely with Intel on the characterization of these materials and has contributed to several industrial reviews. He was awarded first prize at the Graduate Student Poster Competition during the Pacific Northwest American Vacuum Society meeting in 2018 based on his work.

Trey has more recently investigated the interaction of 2-propanol on SnO2(110) surfaces. The goal of these efforts was to further understand the catalytic oxidation of volatile organic compounds using operando experiments. Trey developed new methods for performing these experiments using the SPECS AP-XPS system at Oregon State University, and monitored the reaction product distribution depending on surface preparation, sample temperature, and reaction mixtures. Results of this research were accepted in early 2020 in the special issue of The Journal of Chemical Physics, and was promoted as an Editor’s Pick.

  • FP-RESOMUS Fellow as part of the NCCR-MUST and the Cluster of Excellence RESOLV (2020)
  • Most Outstanding Graduate Student, OSU-CBEE Department Award (2019)
  • American Vacuum Society Morton M. Traum Surface Science Student Award Finalist (2018)
  • AVS 65th Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Travel Grant (2018)
  • Graduate Student Poster Competition 1st Prize at Pacific NW-AVS (2018)
  • Kokes Awardee, 25th North American Catalysis Society Meeting (2017)
  • OSU Graduate School Travel Award (2017)
  • University of Florida University Scholars Program Fellow (2014)

15. Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Lyubinetsky, I.; Hutchison, D. C.; Nyman, M.; Herman, G. S. “Effect of Ambient Conditions on Organotin EUV Photoresist Radiation Chemistries,” ACS Applied Nano Materials, 3 (3), 2266 (2020)

14. Diulus, J. T.; Addou, R.; Herman, G. S.; “Surface Chemistry of 2-Propanol and O2 Mixtures on SnO2(110) Studied with Ambient-Pressure X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy,” Journal of Chemical Physics, 152, 054713 (2020)

13. Stoerzinger, K. A.; Enman, L. J.; Cochran, E. A.; Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Artyushkova, K.; Crumlin, E. J.; Herman, G. S.; Boettcher, S. W. “Understanding Surface Reactivity of Amorphous Transition-Metal-Incorporated Aluminum Oxide Thin Films,” Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 123 (44), 27048 (2019)

12. Wu, F.; Harper, B. J.; Marsh, D. A.; Saha, S.; Diulus, T.; Amador, J. M.; Keszler, D. A.; Herman, G. S.; Maddux, B. L. S.; Harper, S. L. “Monoalkyl Tin Nano-Cluster Films Reveal a Low Environmental Impact under Simulated Natural Conditions,” Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, 38 (12), 2651–2658. (2019)

11. Frederick, R. T.; Diulus, J. T.; Hutchison, D. C.; Nyman, M.; Herman, G. S. “Effect of Oxygen on Thermal and Radiation Induced Chemistries in Organotin Photoresists,” ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 11 (4), 4514, (2019)

10. Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Li, M.; Hutchison, D. C.; Olsen, M. R.; Lyubinetsky, I.; Árnadóttir, L.; Garfunkel, E. L. Nyman, M.; Ogasawara, H.; Herman, G. S. “In situ study of radiation induced chemistries of organotin clusters,” ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 11 (2), 2526, (2019)

9. Pfau, A. J.; Diulus, J. T; He, S.; Albuquerque, G. H.; Stickle, W. F.; Herman, G. S. “Oxidation of CoGe Thin Films Studied Using X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy,” Applied Surface Science, 469, 298, (2019)

8. Frederick, R. T.; Saha, S.; Diulus, J. T.; Luo, F.; Amador, J. M.; Li, M.; Park, D. H.; Garfunkel, E. L.; Keszler, D. A.; Herman, G. S. “Thermal and radiation chemistry of butyltin oxo hydroxo: A model inorganic photoresist,” Microelectronic Engineering, 205, 26, (2018)

7. He, S.; Pfau, A. J.; Diulus, J. T.; Albuquerque, G. H.; Herman, G. S. “Deposition and characterization of nickel gallium thin films,” Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology A: Vacuum, Surfaces, and Films, 36, 031402, (2018)

6. Frederick, R. T.; Diulus, J. T.; Lyubinetsky, I.; Hutchison, D. C.; Olsen, M. R.; Nyman, M.; Herman, G. S. “Surface characterization of tin-based inorganic EUV resists,” SPIE Advances in Patterning Materials and Processes XXXV, 1058607, (2018)

5. Stoerzinger, K. A.; Du, Y.; Ihm, K.; Zhang, K. H. L.; Cai, J.; Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Herman, G. S.; Crumlin, E. J.; Chambers, S. A. “Impact of Sr-Incorporation on Cr Oxidation and Water Dissociation in La(1–x)SrxCrO3,” Advanced Materials Interfaces, 5, 1701363, (2018)

4. Saha, S.; Park, D.-H.; Hutchison, D.; Zakharov, L.; Marsh, D.; Goberna-Ferron, S.; Frederick, R.; Diulus, J. T.; Kenane, N.; Olsen, M.; Herman, G.; Johnson, D.; Keszler, D.; Nyman, M.; “Alkyltin Keggin Clusters Templated by Na,” Angewandte Chemie, Int. Ed, 56, 10140, (2017)

3. Zhang, F.; Pan, L.; Choi, J.; Mehar, V.; Diulus, J. T.; Asthagiri, A.; Weaver, J. F.; “Propane σ-Complexes on PdO(101): Spectroscopic Evidence of the Selective Coordination and Activation of Primary C-H Bonds,” Angewandte Chemie, Int. Ed., 54, 13907, (2015)

2. Choi J.; Pan L.; Zhang F.; Diulus J. T.; Asthagiri A; Weaver J. F.; “Molecular adsorption of NO on PdO(101),” Surface Science, 640, 150-158, (2015)

1. Zhang F.; Pan L.; Li T.; Diulus J. T.; Asthagiri A; and Weaver J. F; "CO Oxidation on PdO(101) During Temperature Programmed Reaction Spectroscopy: Role of Oxygen Vacancies," Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 118 (49), 28647, (2014)

Dr. John Trey Diulus

Trey Diulus

Postdoc (University of Zurich)

FP-RESOMUS Fellow

Paul Scherrer Institute
Forschungsstrasse 111
5232 Villigen PSI
Suisse
Téléphone

Trey est actuellement postdoctorant au sein du groupe du professeur Osterwalder à l’Université Zurich (UZH). Il a obtenu son BSc en génie chimique de l'Université de Floride (Gainesville, FL, USA) et son doctorat de l'Oregon State University (Corvallis, OR, USA) également en génie chimique. En tant qu'étudiant de premier cycle dans le groupe du professeur Jason Weaver à l'Université de Floride, il a commencé son mandat de recherche dans le domaine des sciences de la surface en étudiant la cinétique de plusieurs adsorbats sur un système PdO(101)/Pd(111), qui peut être utilisé comme catalyseur d'oxydation pour une large gamme d'applications. Tout au long de ses études de doctorat dans le groupe du professeur Greg Herman à l'Oregon State University, il est devenu un expert dans de nombreuses techniques de caractérisation de surface et a étudié plusieurs domaines de la chimie des surfaces, en particulier pour le traitement des semi-conducteurs (analyse mécanistique des interactions lors d'une exposition aux ultraviolets extrêmes (EUV) aux organométalliques photorésist), la catalyse fondamentale (analyse chimique in situ de l'oxydation du 2-propanol sur un monocristal de SnO2 (110)) et les applications de caractérisation de couches minces (caractérisation de surface de couches minces NiGa, CoGe et TaWSi déposées par co-pulvérisation). Au cours de son mandat d'étudiant au doctorat, il a codirigé l'équipe de recherche étudiante Nanopatterning dans le cadre du Center for Sustainable Materials Chemistry financé par la NSF. Il a également travaillé en tant que point de contact et mainteneur de système pour deux systèmes à ultra haut vide (UHV) dans le laboratoire du professeur Herman, équipé de multiples techniques de caractérisation et ouvert aux utilisateurs externes.

Trey est actuellement post-doctorant au sein du groupe du professeur Jürg Osterwalder à l'Université de Zurich et travaille comme scientifique invité à l'Institut Paul Scherrer. Toutes ses recherches consistent à utiliser AP-XPS avec les lignes de lumière de la spectroscopie in situ (X07DB) et de Phoenix (X07MA) à la Swiss Light Source. À ce poste, il étudie les métaux monocristallins et les oxydes métalliques bien définis à Operando à l'aide de la nouvelle station d'extrémité Solid Liquid Interface Chemistry (SLIC).

Les recherches de Trey portent sur les aspects fondamentaux des interactions de surface des molécules. Il a donné plus de 20 présentations scientifiques et a plus de 15 publications évaluées par des pairs dans son mandat initial en tant que chercheur. Trey est compétent dans l'utilisation de plusieurs techniques de caractérisation de surface, notamment la désorption programmée en température (TPD), la désorption stimulée par électrons (ESD), la microscopie à force atomique (AFM), la spectroscopie électronique Auger (AES) et la spectroscopie photoélectronique aux rayons X (XPS).

Une grande partie de sa recherche de doctorat portait sur la caractérisation des interactions de rayonnement à basse énergie avec des matériaux sensibles aux rayonnements. Pour ces études, il a utilisé des photons de faible énergie, principalement dans la région des rayons X mous et des ultraviolets extrêmes (EUV), pour l'analyse par spectroscopie d'absorption XPS et X (XAS) des amas organométalliques. Ces grappes peuvent absorber efficacement les photons à des énergies de ~ 92 eV et ont été proposées pour les photorésistants EUV de prochaine génération utilisés dans la fabrication de puces semi-conductrices. Trey a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec Intel sur la caractérisation de ces matériaux et a contribué à plusieurs revues industrielles. Il a reçu le premier prix au concours d'affiches des étudiants diplômés lors de la réunion de la Pacific Northwest American Vacuum Society en 2018 sur la base de son travail.

Trey a récemment étudié l'interaction du 2-propanol sur les surfaces de SnO2 (110).
Le but de ces efforts était d'approfondir la compréhension de l'oxydation catalytique des substances volatiles composés organiques à l'aide d'expériences operando. Trey a développé de nouvelles méthodes pour effectuer ces expériences en utilisant le système SPECS AP-XPS de l'Université d'État de l'Oregon et surveiller la distribution des produits de réaction en fonction de la préparation de la surface, de la température de l'échantillon et des mélanges réactionnels. Les résultats de cette recherche ont été acceptés au début de 2020 dans le numéro spécial du Journal of Chemical Physics et ont été promus choix de l'éditeur.

  • FP-RESOMUS Fellow dans le cadre du NCCR-MUST et du Cluster of Excellence RESOLV (2020)
  • Étudiant diplômé le plus remarquable, Prix du département OSU-CBEE (2019)
  • Finaliste du prix étudiant en sciences de la surface Morton M. Traum de l'American Vacuum Society (2018)
  • Bourse de voyage AVS 65th Dorothy M. et Earl S.Hoffman (2018)
  • Concours d'affiches des étudiants diplômés 1er prix au Pacific NW-AVS (2018)
  • Kokes Awardee, 25e réunion de la North American Catalysis Society (2017)
  • Bourse de voyage de l'OSU Graduate School (2017)
  • Boursier du programme de bourses universitaires de l'Université de Floride (2014)

15. Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Lyubinetsky, I.; Hutchison, D. C.; Nyman, M.; Herman, G. S. “Effect of Ambient Conditions on Organotin EUV Photoresist Radiation Chemistries,” ACS Applied Nano Materials, 3 (3), 2266 (2020)

14. Diulus, J. T.; Addou, R.; Herman, G. S.; “Surface Chemistry of 2-Propanol and O2 Mixtures on SnO2(110) Studied with Ambient-Pressure X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy,” Journal of Chemical Physics, 152, 054713 (2020)

13. Stoerzinger, K. A.; Enman, L. J.; Cochran, E. A.; Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Artyushkova, K.; Crumlin, E. J.; Herman, G. S.; Boettcher, S. W. “Understanding Surface Reactivity of Amorphous Transition-Metal-Incorporated Aluminum Oxide Thin Films,” Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 123 (44), 27048 (2019)

12. Wu, F.; Harper, B. J.; Marsh, D. A.; Saha, S.; Diulus, T.; Amador, J. M.; Keszler, D. A.; Herman, G. S.; Maddux, B. L. S.; Harper, S. L. “Monoalkyl Tin Nano-Cluster Films Reveal a Low Environmental Impact under Simulated Natural Conditions,” Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, 38 (12), 2651–2658. (2019)

11. Frederick, R. T.; Diulus, J. T.; Hutchison, D. C.; Nyman, M.; Herman, G. S. “Effect of Oxygen on Thermal and Radiation Induced Chemistries in Organotin Photoresists,” ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 11 (4), 4514, (2019)

10. Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Li, M.; Hutchison, D. C.; Olsen, M. R.; Lyubinetsky, I.; Árnadóttir, L.; Garfunkel, E. L. Nyman, M.; Ogasawara, H.; Herman, G. S. “In situ study of radiation induced chemistries of organotin clusters,” ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 11 (2), 2526, (2019)

9. Pfau, A. J.; Diulus, J. T; He, S.; Albuquerque, G. H.; Stickle, W. F.; Herman, G. S. “Oxidation of CoGe Thin Films Studied Using X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy,” Applied Surface Science, 469, 298, (2019)

8. Frederick, R. T.; Saha, S.; Diulus, J. T.; Luo, F.; Amador, J. M.; Li, M.; Park, D. H.; Garfunkel, E. L.; Keszler, D. A.; Herman, G. S. “Thermal and radiation chemistry of butyltin oxo hydroxo: A model inorganic photoresist,” Microelectronic Engineering, 205, 26, (2018)

7. He, S.; Pfau, A. J.; Diulus, J. T.; Albuquerque, G. H.; Herman, G. S. “Deposition and characterization of nickel gallium thin films,” Journal of Vacuum Science & Technology A: Vacuum, Surfaces, and Films, 36, 031402, (2018)

6. Frederick, R. T.; Diulus, J. T.; Lyubinetsky, I.; Hutchison, D. C.; Olsen, M. R.; Nyman, M.; Herman, G. S. “Surface characterization of tin-based inorganic EUV resists,” SPIE Advances in Patterning Materials and Processes XXXV, 1058607, (2018)

5. Stoerzinger, K. A.; Du, Y.; Ihm, K.; Zhang, K. H. L.; Cai, J.; Diulus, J. T.; Frederick, R. T.; Herman, G. S.; Crumlin, E. J.; Chambers, S. A. “Impact of Sr-Incorporation on Cr Oxidation and Water Dissociation in La(1–x)SrxCrO3,” Advanced Materials Interfaces, 5, 1701363, (2018)

4. Saha, S.; Park, D.-H.; Hutchison, D.; Zakharov, L.; Marsh, D.; Goberna-Ferron, S.; Frederick, R.; Diulus, J. T.; Kenane, N.; Olsen, M.; Herman, G.; Johnson, D.; Keszler, D.; Nyman, M.; “Alkyltin Keggin Clusters Templated by Na,” Angewandte Chemie, Int. Ed, 56, 10140, (2017)

3. Zhang, F.; Pan, L.; Choi, J.; Mehar, V.; Diulus, J. T.; Asthagiri, A.; Weaver, J. F.; “Propane σ-Complexes on PdO(101): Spectroscopic Evidence of the Selective Coordination and Activation of Primary C-H Bonds,” Angewandte Chemie, Int. Ed., 54, 13907, (2015)

2. Choi J.; Pan L.; Zhang F.; Diulus J. T.; Asthagiri A; Weaver J. F.; “Molecular adsorption of NO on PdO(101),” Surface Science, 640, 150-158, (2015)

1. Zhang F.; Pan L.; Li T.; Diulus J. T.; Asthagiri A; and Weaver J. F; "CO Oxidation on PdO(101) During Temperature Programmed Reaction Spectroscopy: Role of Oxygen Vacancies," Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 118 (49), 28647, (2014)