ENE Seminars Archive 2/2014

The General Energy Research Divisionorganizes a weekly seminar during the semester. Seminars are scheduled for Thursdays at PSI. Visitors from other Divisions and from outside PSI are always welcome.

Organisation A. Wokaun und S. Wittke


* Topic of the semester: Research Activities in the Framework of SCCERs Storage and Biomass
** Doctoral thesis
Date Time, Place Speaker Topic Moderator

Thursday 21 August 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Zhuoxiang Zhang **PhD: Chemical degradation of radiation grafted membranes for fuel cells L. Gubler

Thursday 28 August 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 - tbd - - tbd -

Thursday 4 September 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Dr. Martin Densing ENE/NES Colloquium:
Comparison of Swiss Electricity Scenarios 2050
A. Wokaun

Tuesday 9 September 2014 13:00, OSGA / EG6 Dr. Nenad Markovic, Argonne National Laboratory, Lemont IL, USA *Water as promoter and catalysts: dioxygen electrochemistry in aqueous and organic environments T.J. Schmidt

Thursday 18 September 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Sinan Teske **PhD: Integrating rate based models into a multi-objective process design & optimisation framewok using Surrogate models Prof. Dr. F. Maréchal

Friday 19 September 2014 11:15, WHGA / 001 Prof. M. Troyer, ETHZ PSI Colloquium:
Validation of quantum devices: from quantum random numbers to the D-Wave devices


Thursday 25 September 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 - tbd - - tbd -

Thursday 2 October 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Prof. Dr. François Maréchal, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) *Smart energy systems need smart energy systems engineers A. Wokaun

Thursday 9 October 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Dr. Imad El Haddad Insights into organic aerosol emission sources and transformation processes: focus on haze events U. Baltensperger

Thursday 16 October 2014 11:00, WHGA / 001 - tbd - - tbd -

Thursday 23 October 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Prof. Dr. Christoph Müller, ETHZ *SCCER Biosweet:
Sustainable energy: From CO2 capture to catalytic biomass conversion
O. Kröcher

Friday 24 October 2014 11:15, WHGA / 001 Prof. Dr. Helmut Dosch, DESY Hamburg PSI Colloquium:
It's the electron, stupid!
From X-ray Tubes to X-ray Free-Electron Lasers


Thursday 30 October 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Prof. Dr. Kurt Heiniger, FHNW Is there a way from Thomas Edison's idea of a "pyromagnetic motor" to a modern thermo-magnetic
motor driven by waste water?
…. and other applied research projects in thermal systems engineering at FHNW
A. Wokaun

Thursday 6 November 2014 11:00, WHGA / 001 M. Hofer, Dr. P. Jansohn, Dr. T. Schildhauer Energy System Integration Platform A. Wokaun

Friday 14 November 2014 11:15, WHGA / 001 Prof. Dr. Urs Baltensperger PSI Colloquium:
The CLOUD experiment at CERN: Search for the influence of galactic cosmic rays, and hence of the solar activity, on climate change
A. Wokaun

Thursday 20 November 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Prof. Dr. Thomas Kolb, KIT Karlsruhe Research on chemical energy carriers for future energy systems P. Jansohn

Thursday 27 November 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Dr. Gunter Siddiqi, BFE Bern CO2-Sequestrierung und (tiefe) Geothermie – das eine tun, und das andere nicht lassen P. Jansohn

Thursday 4 December 2014 09:00, OSGA/EG6 Prof. Dr. Marco Mazzotti, ETHZ CO2 capture and storage: state of the art, challenges, and Swiss roadmap S. Hirschberg

Friday 5 December 2014 11:15, WHGA / 001 Prof. Jean Pierre Blaser PSI Colloquium:
Gedanken zu Energiepolitik und Wissenschaft


Thursday 11 December 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Prof. Dr. Andrew deMello, ETHZ Droplet-Based Microfluidics: Towards Ultra-High Throughput Chemistry and Biology J. van Bokhoven

Thursday 18 December 2014 11:00, OSGA / EG6 Dr. Jörg Worlitschek, HSL *SCCER Storage:
Thermal Energy Storage – Gaining Flexibility between Power and Heat

T.J. Schmidt

Friday 19 December 2014 11:15, WHGA / 001 Prof. Dr. Juergen Mittelstrass, University of Constance PSI Colloquium:
The Joy and Woe of Scientific Political Consulting.